Universidade Autónoma de Lisboa
Above Content

Law Department


left side
Article / Section
Home > >


 The Law Department is a cornerstone of Autónoma’s educational project. Over its existence of more than two decades, it has attained high scientific quality standards and employed academically qualified faculty with a broad professional experience. The Department of Law is deeply committed to its own cultural and scientific enrichment and to the enhancement of all those wishing to learn with us. 

Having adapted quickly to the Bologna Process, the Law Department structured its degrees in accordance with it with a view to increasing participation in the labour market at home and in Europe. Like other national and foreign schools, it offers three study cycles. 

The first cycle corresponds to the Bachelor Degree and comprises 240 ECTS studied over four years. The law degree from Universidade Autónoma de Lisboa aims to provide students with solid legal training in all areas of law related to the core values of life in society, guided by quality criteria and scientific rigour that prepare them for the professional practice of legal activities. 

However, Law is increasingly expanding and becoming more varied and complex. Accordingly, the knowledge gained in the Bachelor Degree requires further deepening and specialization, especially when referring to more demanding professions, due to the responsibilities it involves, the risks incurred, and the power exerted. Hence, the 1st cycle should be complemented by a 2nd cycle of study - the Master Degree.

Fully aware of this need, the Law Department created a second cycle offering  master courses specializing in four scientific areas (Legal Sciences; Legal and Political Sciences; Legal and Criminal Sciences). Each degree consists of 120 ECTS and is studied over 2 years. 

The third cycle of studies, comprising 180 ECTS, corresponds to the PhD in law in three specialties (Legal Sciences; Legal and Political Sciences and Legal and Procedural Sciences). The PhD degree is expected to last six semesters, the first two with a taught component and the third for the preparation of the thesis project. In the remaining semesters students will write their theses.

left side